farmers market creamy tomato basil soup

IMG_4859

IMG_4867

IMG_4869

so it’s been raining all day and I’ve been feeling yucky (combined with the fact that I had a bunch of farmers market tomatoes beginning to get quite ripe and my basil plant is screaming at me to be pruned)…I decided to experiment with a tomato soup. I never liked it much as a kid but that was usually Campbell’s so I figured homemade s got to be better than that right? Plus paired with some home,are mozzarella on some farm fresh crusty bread can you really go wrong? So here’s a rough recipe, mind you (and you’ll learn this about me) when I make up a recipe I really don’t measure at all so bear with me (bare with me? hmm…now that I think of it where does that expression even come from and which is the correct spelling?!) so here goes;

Creamy tomato basil soup

a few tablespoons olive oil
2 onions chopped
4 small carrots chopped
a heap of mined garlic
5-6 tomatoes roughly chopped
a little sugar
few squirts tomato paste
a bunch of fresh basil chopped plus julienned leaves for garnish
apx. a carton of chicken broth
kosher salt (the only salt you should be using for cooking & baking in my opinion)
black pepper
little less than a cup of heavy cream (just pour till its creamy and thick

Sauté onion & carrots till translucent and tender then add garlic and stir. Add all other ingredients except cream, bring to a boil, then simmer about 25-30 minutes. Or I guess longer if you wanted, I don’t think it’d hurt. Transfer to blender (CAREFULLY!!!) or use immersion blender if you’re fancy. Then add cream & simmer till hot again. Garnish with more basil and serve with grilled cheese (but I don’t need to tell you how to make that….do I?) Enjoy!

One thought on “farmers market creamy tomato basil soup

  1. Pingback: delicious mystery | beauty & the butcher

Leave a Reply

