it’s true!

20130829-033456.jpg

Been finding some real vintage gems on Netflix lately and the most recent one I stumbled on is a classic I can’t believe I’ve never seen until now…Girls Just Want to Have Fun! Sarah Jessica Parker, Helen Hunt, pre-teen (and pre-major jerk) Shannon Doherty, dancing, and some major 80’s fashion that has reminded me (combined with my recent trip to Forever 21) that the 80’s are back in a very large and very ugly way. Bodysuits are back?! Striped leggings and acid washed bra tops?! Wha?! Anyway, the movie was made in ’85 which was a particularly good year seeing as how it’s the year I was born! It’s rated PG and caused no cringing which was nice for a change, just sweet unrequited teenage love and some derelict 80’s punks. This may actually be my most favorite role of Helen Hunt’s; she’s a free spirit with quite the fashion sense. I would also like to point out that it has a lot of similarities to dirty dancing (including the dance move that I guess I’ll call the “air plank”?) but came out two years before so take that Jennifer Grey! Anyway next time you’re cruising Netflix, totally check it out dude! (80’s talk?)

Leave a Reply

