Meringue madness

20130920-054740.jpg

beware: these are the most addictive little suckers ever! they are probably what I’m best known for by my friends and family; so much so that one of my best friends Adrianne comes straight into the kitchen, opens my vintage red breadbox looking for the bag of meringues and proceeds to yell at me if they’re not there. I also use them as payment for my father to do handyman jobs around my house and every time I make them and leave the room to let them cool I return to find half the batch gone and he and my husband standing there with guilty looks and full cheeks. These meringues are light, crunchy, and deliciously sweet. Not to mention SUPER easy to make which makes me love them even more. You only need five ingredients and a little bit of time. Here’s the recipe;

Beauty & The Butcher’s Melt in Your Mouth Meringues

4 egg whites room temperature (here’s a little secret I learned after several occasions where I wanted to make them but crap! my eggs were cold…I finally realized I could just put the eggs in a bowl of hot water and let them sit for a few minutes and voilà room temperature!) also if you need something to do with those yolks you just separated then make my yummy almond cake found here
1/4 tsp good vanilla (as Ina says)
1/4 tsp kosher salt (the only salt I use)
1/4 tsp cream of tartar (and no, in case you were wondering, this is not tartar sauce or anything close to it-you know who you are! it’s a fine white powder found in the spice aisle and is an acid that increases the stability and volume of the egg whites…fun fact it’s also used in the wine fermentation process!)
1 cup sugar (I sometimes use half a cup if I’m making them for people that can’t have a lot of sugar but they’re obviously not the same!)

Ok so let’s recap those 5 ingredients since I was blabbing so much…
4 room temp egg whites
1/4 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 tsp kosher salt
1/4 tsp cream if tartar
1 cup sugar
(Optional- add chocolate chips or citrus zest)

You’ll also need a mixer, parchment paper, two baking sheets, a piping bag or large Ziploc, scissors, and some sort of vessel like a large jar.

Preheat oven to 225. Meringues need to cook “low and slow”.
Combine egg whites, salt, vanilla, and cream of tartar in the bowl of your stand mixer
Whisk on high until egg whites start to get frothy
Slowly add sugar into the mixture while it’s beating and beat until mixture is glossy and stiff peaks are formed (you should be able to hold the bowl upside down and it doesn’t budge!)
If adding chocolate chips (I use ghiardelli mini chips, they are easier to pipe) or citrus zest, fold in gently.
Take your piping or ziploc bag and invert it into jar or large glass. Fill with mixture, twist bag closed, and snip a small opening at the tip of the bag.
Pipe small (Hershey’s kiss shapes) onto two parchment paper lined baking sheets.
Put in the oven and bake for about an hour and 5 minutes. Put on cooling rack and then store in airtight container, then enjoy!!!!

4 thoughts on “Meringue madness

  1. Pingback: Pretty in Pink | beauty & the butcher

Leave a Reply

