inspired by an heirloom

20131113-132507.jpg

20131113-132525.jpg

my mother in law recently gave me an antique Japanese tea set that belonged to my husband’s grandmother. The girls loved it and we decided to have a little Asian tea party and dinner inspired by their Grandma Rita. I put chopsticks in their hair, dressed them in my kimono bathrobes, and turned my pashminas into a great obi to complete the look! To go with our oolong tea and egg rolls I made a quick shrimp fried rice. Here’s the recipe;

Shrimp Fried Rice

4 cups cooked & cooled rice (I like to use brown but white is fine too)
1 bunch scallions (chopped)
1/4 lb medium shrimp tails off
1 egg (beaten)
1 tbs sesame oil
Soy sauce
1 tsp Ground ginger
1 tsp Onion powder
1 tsp Garlic powder
1 tsp Chinese five spice powder
Salt & pepper

Heat sesame oil in pan, season shrimp with salt & pepper and sauté until pink but be careful not to overcook. Set shrimp aside and hear a little more sesame oil in the pan. (I like to use a wok but a large pan will work too) Cook the rice and scallions for a minute or so then add spices and a few tablespoons of soy sauce. Mix together and push to the side of pan. Scramble egg in empty spot then mix into rice. Add shrimp and stir everything together till shrimp is hot again and serve!

Leave a Reply

