chalk it up!

In a recent post I talked about a sign my dad was helping me make, and here’s the finished product!

20131126-001048.jpg
Here’s what I did:
1. Pick your desired shape and trace it on a piece of plywood.
2. Using a scroll saw cut out the shape (or have your dad do it) and screw in a yard post to the back then sand the edges.
3. Paint the sign with chalkboard paint. In the past I’ve used the brush on paint but this time I used a spray like this and was much happier with the result; a nice thin even coat and no streaks!
4. Paint the sign post the color of your choice and let it dry.
5. Find your favorite quote or whatever saying you’d like to put on the sign and get inspiration from Pinterest for cool chalkboard lettering and designs to make with a chalk marker. You can use regular chalk but chalk markers are neater, much easier to work with, and last a lot longer (my sign is outside and the chalk is holding up great!)
6. Stick it in the ground, step back, admire your hard work, and wait for the compliments to pour in!

Here’s the full look of my outdoor fall display. Like the little hanging “Rao” sign? Stay tuned for tomorrow’s post!

20131126-002857.jpg

2 thoughts on “chalk it up!

  1. Your entry looks fallified, I love it. Up here we are gearing up for winter but it is prolly just starting to feel like fall there.

Leave a Reply

