DIY monogram wreath

20140110-152224.jpg

Well today’s the day, my nana is making the big move from Oklahoma to Florida. She is elderly and ill and has been in a nursing home there. But my vigilant and ever patient mother finally was able to find a home here in Florida that would take her. It’s very pretty and clean as nursing homes go but quite drab. So I decided to spruce up her room a little with her favorite color, purple. I got her a beautiful plush blanket, some throw pillows, an apothecary jar full of candy and some picture frames with old and new pics of her family. But I wanted to make something that would add a cute personal touch and thought a little wreath for her door would be the perfect touch. You’ll have to forgive me I forgot to take before shots to show you step by step but I assure you, it’s super easy and you don’t need them.

Here’s what you’ll need…

1 foam wreath form
Roll of burlap
A few straight pins
Hot glue gun
Decorative pieces i.e. flowers, trinkets, wooden letter, etc.

Take the burlap and pin one end to the foam then begin to tightly wrap it around the wreath making sure it’s snug and evenly spaced. Randomly place straight pins as you go to secure it. When you get to the end cut the burlap & trim any frayed ends, then hot glue the end piece for a seamless finish. Then hot glue whatever you’d like on it for decoration; I used a wooden “H” (my nana’s name is Hope) and covered it in colorful scrap paper. The silk flower I simply cut the stem off except for a short stump, cut a small hole in the burlap and stuck the stump into the foam to secure it. Then I hot glued little paper flowers on top of that and the letter to finish it off. You can tie a ribbon at the top to hang it or simply put it on a hook. Can’t get much easier than that for a cute personal gift!

Leave a Reply

