“L” is for Laughter, it’s the best medicine

20140412-003035.jpg
The butcher got annoyed with me the other night as we watched some dumb show on tv that he was laughing uproariously at and I sat with simply an amused smile on my face. “Why aren’t you laughing?”, he asked in exasperation. I realized that when watching television or a movie I have to REALLY think something is funny to LOL (I truly despise this expression and never use it in real life, but in this case I really was referring to “laughing out loud”). I think I get this from my mom, growing up I don’t recall her laughing (calm down mom I’m not saying you didn’t laugh, I’m referring specifically to when watching tv) at the television much except for when she watched one man-Sinbad. That woman laughed her head off watching a routine of his we had on tape (it was/is pretty hilarious with lines like, “drop your butt and run”, “baby I like the way your butt drags in the sand, write my name like you used to” and, “is that what you’re wearing?” “Oh no baby I was just going to get the mail then I was coming back to see what you want me to put on”) Oftentimes at night my sister and I would lay in bed, (angry at them and the fun we were missing out on, as smells of popcorn and apple dumplings from Landis wafted up the stairs) and sometimes we’d hear them laughing but mom in particular, a laugh so loud & joyful it made our little hearts happy and we just knew, they were watching Sinbad.
Despite my apparent indifference to laughing at the television, I do LOVE to laugh. This is one of the primary reasons why I married the butcher, he literally makes me laugh every single day. They (still yet to find out who “they” are, anybody?) say “laughter is the best medicine” and I really believe that to be true. Humor is infectious. The sound of roaring laughter is far more contagious than any cough, sniffle, or sneeze. When laughter is shared, it binds people together and increases happiness & intimacy. Laughter also triggers healthy physical changes in the body. Humor and laughter strengthen your immune system, boost your energy, diminish pain, and protect you from the damaging effects of stress. Best of all, this priceless medicine is fun, free, and available to everyone. “L” is for laughter, have you laughed today?

2 thoughts on ““L” is for Laughter, it’s the best medicine

  1. Clearly men and women differ at times in what they find funny , but it’s those differences that make us who we are , and is sometimes part of our charm

Leave a Reply

