Not an ugly mug…

20140511-013830.jpg
For my first project in my “MAYbe Tomorrow” Pinterest challenge this month, I decided to do a super easy but cute project I’ve seen a ton on Pinterest…sharpie mugs! They are a great simple craft and can most likely be made with stuff you have lying around the house. They also make great mugs! Inspired by the Butcher’s mother and the funny saying she has for the way she prefers her coffee, I made this set for my in-laws. I am going to use another color, maybe turquoise or lime green, to make a set for my parents as well. (everybody calm down.) You can use mugs you already own, get some plain vintage ones from a thrift store, or use ones like I did from IKEA. Here’s how it’s done…

1. Grab a sharpie…preferably a newer one so the tip is sharper for more accurate drawing.
2. Write or draw whatever your heart desires on the mug; a quote, someone’s name, or even a blue duck (Billy Madison quote)
3. Put in the oven at 375 for 30 minutes.
4. Let cool.
5. This is a 99 cent mug with sharpie on it people, not the Rosetta Stone, so don’t put it in the dishwasher and use caution when washin’. (who doesn’t love a good rhyme?)

Leave a Reply

