Want some cheese with that whine?

Hopefully you “got” my title as opposed to just thinking I can’t spell. Being the baby of the family and somewhat Jewish, I’m inherently a whiner, so I’ve heard every whining pun in the book. (A certain dear friend of mine even used to say, uh oh, here comes the wambulance…) I’m proud to say that the butcher has pretty much broken me of the habit, mainly because I’ve learned that I can get what I want without, as the dictionary puts it, “making a long high pitched complaining sound”. ANYWAY, back to the point of today’s post, we are attending a wine and cheese party at a friend’s this weekend (can I just say how nice it is, even though I love to host, to be invited to be a guest in someone else’s home and let them do all the work?! Can you tell I’m looking forward to it?) and it made me think of the one we had a while back. I thought I’d share some of the pictures with you as well as some helpful tips.

Here’s all the glasses, plates, and napkins ready to go so people could help themselves. This particular party was celebrating an anniversary so my crafty BFF hand stamped napkins with the couple’s initials for a personal touch. Make sure you have appropriate glasses for each beverage, red & white wine glasses, champagne flutes, small shot type glasses (for tasting before they commit to a whole pour) and cups for water (these pretzels are makin’ me thirsty!)

20140521-012621-5181034.jpg
As functional party favors I enlisted another craft lover in my life, dear old dad, to make these adorable wine charms using alphabet beads with the initials of each party guest. (This only works for a small intimate gathering, but for larger groups you could do a standard saying, word, or guest of honor’s initials)

20140521-014444-6284309.jpg
I put out a wide array of cheeses, dried fruits, honey, crackers, olives, prosciutto wrapped melon, bread, nuts, etc to choose from. It’s suggested to put out a representative of each cheese type; a creamy, stinky, sharp, smoked, blue, etc. So I did that and then made labels for each cheese along with pairing suggestions for both food and wine. That part was a little frustrating because from what I observed nobody really followed my instructions (can you tell I like people to do what I tell them?! haha) so it felt like a waste of time but I think with a different "foodier"crowd, my efforts would be more appreciated.

20140521-014656-6416252.jpg

20140521-014655-6415949.jpg

20140521-014655-6415805.jpg

20140521-014656-6416078.jpg
And finally, the pies de resistance, the wine! Again I tried to have a wide variety of red, white, sparkling, sweet, dry, etc. making sure they were kept at the (somewhat) right temperature. I also put a description and pairing suggestions with each bottle.

20140521-015146-6706942.jpg
My favorite part of the whole party though? These vintage wine barrels I rented from a local party supply warehouse that doubled as a bar and light source, it really added to the ambiance and fit the theme perfectly!

20140521-015222-6742916.jpg
And there you have it! I hope this helps inspire you to throw one of your own!

7 thoughts on “Want some cheese with that whine?

  1. Oh my word! You amaze me. I think, if you still lived up here I’d hire you as a party planner! Love your blog.

  2. This party was beautiful thanks for the tips for a future wine and cheese of my own to pair cheeses and wine

Leave a Reply

