whip it, whip it good.

20140611-222513-80713923.jpg
My second tip in our 30 days of coconut oil is…body butter! In the past I felt like I was always searching for the perfect lotion. One that was moisturizing, not greasy, and had a nice but not overpowering scent. I also was searching for a face lotion for the butcher. Since he basically works in a freezer all day, his skin gets extremely chapped and dry from the cold air, especially his nose and cheeks. Who thought I could solve both problems with just three natural ingredients?!

Here’s what I did…

In my kitchen aid I put 1 cup coconut oil (in it’s natural solid state, don’t melt it or anything), 1 teaspoon vitamin E oil (I get mine online here or if you’re fortunate enough to live near trader Joe’s, they have an excellent one as well), and a few drops of essential oil. (I chose lavender but this step is completely optional, the C.O. already has a nice scent on its own) Using the whisk attachment I whipped on high for about five minutes until it was a lovely, creamy, whipped delight. Put into your favorite jar and that’s it! It can be used all over your body and even your face (sparingly though, I don’t have oily skin but if you tend to then use caution). I also recommend keeping it in the fridge during the summer so it doesn’t melt and will feel oh so refreshing when you put that cool lotion on your skin!
20140611-222514-80714115.jpg

Leave a Reply

