Put a ring on it…DIY style

I’m hosting a bridal tea in a couple weeks so I’ve been doing a lot of tea party related projects as of late (so stay tuned!) and I was super excited about this one. Flowers always dress up a table, and no tea party is complete without pink roses (in my opinion). I’ve seen a lot of ideas on Pinterest like planting little flowers or succulents inside each persons teacup but that means that either a) you have twice the amount of teacups that you need, which I don’t, or b) you’ve got a plant in your cup, and that’s a problem at a tea party! So I needed another way to incorporate flowers and came up with some easy and inexpensive DIY floral napkin rings!
20140710-095229-35549695.jpg
These really were very simple to make. The hands you see in the picture belong to my little nieces, they were a big help and this was a fun & easy project for them as well. Here’s what you’ll need…
* Shower curtain rings (you can get a pack of 12 at Walmart for like two bucks and a dozen was exactly how many I needed!)
* floral tape
* glue gun & glue sticks (duh)
* silk flowers…I got all my silk flowers for about 6 bucks at Walmart so this entire project only cost me about $10!
Here’s what to do~
Cut a long strip of floral tape and carefully wrap it around the shower curtain ring (once it is snapped in place). The floral tape is a little tacky so it should adhere to itself nicely. Cut off the stem of the flower at the base of the flower itself. Apply a generous glob (yes, that’s the technical term) of glue to the flower base and adhere ring to it. Using pressure, hold it there for about 30 seconds then set it aside to dry. Next…oh wait, that’s it, you’re done! See I told you it was easy! Your table will be so much prettier and no one will ever guess (unless they happen to read some fabulous blog about it…) that they only cost about 83 cents a pop!

20140710-124919-46159494.jpg

3 thoughts on “Put a ring on it…DIY style

  1. Pingback: Bridal Tea Extravaganza | beauty & the butcher

Leave a Reply

