chocolate truffle cupcake goodness

20140712-002305-1385454.jpg
Lindt milk chocolate truffles (or “the red ones” as I call them when I’m pmsing and texting the butcher to bring me home a bag from work) are my favorite go-to chocolate. They don’t have that waxy texture like some cheaper chocolate has and I love biting into a hard chocolate with a creamy chocolate melted center. Drooling yet? Anyway, I was in the mood for cupcakes one day and after discovering that I had exactly 12 truffles I thought to myself, “I wonder if I could put the truffles inside the cupcakes?” How could you really go wrong? I’m normally an advocate of recipes from scratch but every once in a while I’ll use a box mix, and this was one of those times. If you doctor it up a bit, it makes it ok. I had a box of devils food cake mix in the pantry but any chocolate cake mix will do. Instead of following the box directions, I decided to make a few adjustments for a thicker, richer batter. Here’s what I used…

1 box chocolate cake mix
1 box instant vanilla pudding mix
4 eggs
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1/2 cup water
1 cup sour cream (optional but I highly recommend it!)
Milk chocolate Lindor truffles (this actually makes 24 cupcakes but I only had 12 truffles so I made 12 with and 12 without and sent the less amazing ones to work with the butcher!)

Make the icing first here’s the recipe…

Cream Cheese Frosting:
1/2 cup (1 stick) butter room temp
8 ounces cream cheese room temp
1/2 teaspoon good vanilla (like Ina says)
3 cups powdered sugar

Cream together butter and cream cheese, add vanilla, and slowly (unless you’re going for the kabuki look) add powdered sugar until combined. Put into a large ziploc and put in the fridge for later.

Now for the cake batter…

In a large bowl add all ingredients and mix well. Fill cupcake liners and bake at 350 for five minutes, then lightly press a truffle into the partially baked cupcakes. Let them bake an another 12-13 minutes (depending on your oven, just keep and eye on them and do the clean knife test, you know the drill.) Cool completely (have fun keeping your husband and/or children away from them long enough for them to cool!) Remove frosting from fridge and snip corner of bag turning it into a piping bag. Pipe the frosting in swirls on top of each cupcake and enjoy! These were amazing still warm because the truffles were all gooey inside but they were just as delicious the next day too!
20140712-004528-2728030.jpg

Leave a Reply

