Nespresso Nespresso, how I love you so…

IMG_1825.JPG
Earlier this year the butcher bought me a nespresso machine for our 7th anniversary. I am absolutely in love with it and it has upped my level of “coffee snobbery” to an all new high, I won’t even look at a keurig, let alone drink from one! I prefer a rich strong cup of coffee or even better, espresso. So the watered down weak flavor of most keurig k-cups doesn’t suit me. But to each his own, it’s kind of like the difference between an iphone and an android, each user clearly thinks theirs is superior. Check out this interesting article for an eye opening comparison of the similarity between to the two coffee rivals to the apple vs Microsoft software war! What is a nespresso you ask? First off, I recommend you go immediately to the nearest William Sonoma to sample it’s deliciousness. Built and designed by Swiss engineers, Nespresso coffee machines offer the best of two worlds: advanced innovation and extreme simplicity. Every detail has been carefully considered so you can enjoy the ultimate coffee experience.
My machine, the Nespresso VertuoLine, is their newest model which makes an 8 oz cup of coffee as well as espresso in comparison to their former espresso only models. This machine offers a revolutionary, intelligent coffee extraction system that recognizes each capsule to deliver the best result for freshly brewed Coffee with crema (the rich hazelnut-colored foam which forms naturally when mixing air with liquid coffee. It helps liberate aromas from the cup just after extraction and then creates a lid over the coffee that keeps aromas in) as well as authentic Espresso. Only 1-2 % percent of all the coffee in the world is of the exceptional quality, taste and aroma standards required for Nespresso’s Grand Cru collection. Growing and preserving such high quality coffee is I’m sure challenging, but Nespresso believes that it is only by starting out with the best raw materials they can finish with a great cup of coffee. The coffee itself is fantastic and my favorite is the “Altissio”. It’s a full bodied creamy espresso made with Arabicas from Costa Rica and South America. The hint of Robusta contrasts with smooth cereal notes. The addition of milk complements its natural full body. Which is exactly how I like it, in a nice smooth latte form! Though all aromas are present in unroasted green coffee, they are only expressed fully once coffee is roasted. During tasting, light, floral and fruity notes are followed by heavier, roasted, woody or spicy notes and all of this truly stands out with Nespresso’s coffee. Now I know what you’re thinking…am I getting paid by nespresso to say all of this? No. But if anyone out there wants to, I’ll take it!

2 thoughts on “Nespresso Nespresso, how I love you so…

  1. I just had my first taste of Nepresso this weekend – I was in LOVE! I really want one for Christmas! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

