twelve little monkeys jumpin’ on the bed…

As “winter” (I put it into quotations due to the fact that we live in Florida, but we still have our version of winter, we just don’t have to scrape our windshields!) approaches, it puts me in the party mood. I was looking through pictures of last years temporary moment of insanity, when I decided to have a slumber party for twelve little girls ages two to ten. As I looked through the photos, I realized that I never shared them with you! Despite it being a ton of hard work and extremely exhausting, the kids had a blast and I’ll do just about anything to put a smile on my little niece’s faces so it was well worth it. Thanks to the butcher and my father, the girls had a custom-made tent to sleep in with a secret entrance on the side. There was a candy bar, pizza, a photo booth, lots of silly dancing, gift exchange, giant movie on the projector, and my favorite part, a twist on pin the tail on the donkey; put the makeup on the granny. My mother and mother in law were great sports as we spun the girls around, blindfolded, and let them choose blush, blue eyeshadow, or red lipstick to smear on the granny’s faces. It was hilarious. They finally tuckered out/came down from the sugar high around 2 am and thankfully we had no middle of the night accidents or “I want my mommy” episodes. They were up bright and early the next morning and loved the cereal bar I put out for them, especially when I said they could mix different flavors and have as much as they wanted. Isnt that what slumber parties are all about?! After breakfast they colored and played with their new toys while Ang and I tried to clean up around them. Before they left each girl was randomly assigned a pen pal and they filled out envelopes with their names and addresses on them. (Unfortunately much to my dismay most of them didn’t do the letters, I mean come on parents, I do all this work, give you a night off, not to mention give your child memories to last a lifetime, and you can’t help them write a letter and put it in an already addressed and stamped envelope?! But I digress.) Don’t they say that the definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results? Well then call me crazy because I think I might do another one this year. I have all the décor still so now I’m trying to decide if the kids will even notice if I use it all again or if I should switch it up. I know, I know, first world problems right? Here’s the pictures!

IMG_6336 IMG_6339 IMG_6340 IMG_6338 IMG_6335

IMG_6317IMG_6350 IMG_2177 IMG_6400 IMG_6369 IMG_6383 IMG_6381 IMG_6411 IMG_6433 IMG_6412 IMG_6407 IMG_6430 IMG_6423 IMG_6418 IMG_6437

Leave a Reply

