Don’t “brush” it under the rug…

  Last night I had one of my usual bouts of insomnia. It may have had something to do with a frustrating and anxiety inducing encounter with an family member (ever feel like it’s someone’s life mission just to upset you? Grrrrrr….but I digress) or perhaps the glass of iced tea I had around 8:30…(face palm) either way, I couldn’t sleep. Instead of binge watching Gilmore girls (I finished the show anyway…man I forgot how annoying Zach was and does anyone else think Rory might have scoliosis?) I decided to be productive. My eyebrows were getting pretty unruly so I sat down at my vanity to pluck them. As I rummaged through my various makeup tools to find my tweezers, I came across my little bottle of Sonia Kashuk Brush and Sponge Cleanser. You can get yours here. Realizing it had been quite a while since I had cleaned my brushes and beauty blenders, I decided to get to work. (After flawlessly shaping my brows of course) What is a beauty blender you ask?  

This little guy is an edgeless, non-disposable, high-definition cosmetic sponge applicator which applies makeup immaculately for a smooth, streak-free finish. It’s double-ended, with a rounded tip on one end to apply makeup all over the face and neck. Flip the sponge over for a pointed tip to access hard to reach areas (like the corners of the eye) and for precision blending (like contouring). I use a big one for liquid foundation when I wear it and the small one for my under eye concealer. You can get yours here

Anyway, back to the brushes. You might be wondering why it’s important to wash them in the first place. Think about it, when you clean your brushes and sponges, you’re not just getting rid of old makeup, but you’re also ridding the brush of (and here’s where things gets real gross): old makeup, dirt, oil, dead skin, and bacteria. I know. I know. Being a human is disgusting. I’m telling you once you do this you’ll be amazed by your next clean brushed makeup application.

So here’s what you do. Begin by wetting the hairs of the brush under warm water, with the brush pointing down. Otherwise, water might get stuck in the handle of the brush or in the brush’s ferrule (or the metal part), which could cause, at worse, bacteria, and, at best, a break down of the glue that keeps the bristles of the brush in the handle. The spray I have makes it super easy to wash them, but if you don’t have the spray then a gentle soap like your facial cleanser should work fine. Spritz the brush a few times and gently massage it under warm water, always pointing downwards,  until the water runs clear. You will be amazed at how much makeup comes out of that thing! Dry the brushes a bit with a paper towel or regular towel and reshape the bristles. Leave the brushes (even kabuki brushes) on their side. Leaving them standing up to dry will cause water to seep down and damage the brush (we talked about this already.) You need to let the brushes dry 100% before you use them again, so I suggest doing this at night, once you’ve already committed that you will not be leaving the house and will not need to paint your face again at any point in the day.

Isn’t it fun being productive? Although I guess technically I could’ve had Gilmore Girls on in the background and still gotten plenty done…

Only At Target
Leave a Reply

