What the deviled? 

  I was invited to a lovely luncheon yesterday and was asked to bring deviled eggs. I decided I’d share my recipe with you but thought you might like a little bit of history on how the devil they got their name. (I could do this all day)

The term “deviled”, in reference to food, was used in the 19th century and came to be used most often with spicy or zesty food, including eggs prepared with mustard, pepper, or other ingredients stuffed in the yolk cavity. The word cavity always sounds so unappealing in reference to food. But I digress. 

In parts of the Southern and Midwestern United States, the terms “stuffed eggs”, “salad eggs”, “dressed eggs”, or “angel eggs” are also used, particularly when served in connection with church functions, avoiding the name “Devil.” The term “angel eggs” is also used in association with deviled eggs stuffed with “healthier” alternatives (I’m not sure what and I don’t really want to know, I’ll keep it traditional when it comes to my deviled eggs thank you very much.)
Before I share my recipe with you I must warn you, this is one of those recipes where I don’t measure. I’m sorry but it’s really just about your preference of texture and taste, you can do it though, I believe in you. Here goes nothin’…

Beauty & The Butcher’s Deviled Eggs

  • 12 hard boiled eggs (I save a TON of time by pre boiled eggs at the store. It’s like 4 bucks for a dozen and anything that keeps my kitchen from smelling like sewage and saves me hours of tireless egg shell peeling is totally worth it to me!) 
  • A few TB Dijon mustard (remember, I warned you about the measurements….also just FYI I prefer Dijon due to its tangy flavor from the white wine but you could use yellow mustard instead which is interestingly made so yellow by the addition of tumeric…cool huh? )
  • About 1/2 C mayonnaise 
  • Salt & Pepper
  • Paprika
  • Fresh Chives (diced)
  • 4 slices bacon 

Dice the bacon into small pieces, fry, and set aside. Slice each egg in half and carefully remove the yolk, then put all the yolks in a bowl. Add mayo and mustard to yolks and mix together. You can mash by hand but I like to use my hand mixer to get a really smooth texture. Add salt, pepper, and paprika to taste and spoon into inverted ziploc bag. Snip the corner of the bag and pipe mixture into the empty egg whites. It helps to have a pretty deviled egg plate too, I got mine at Target! Top the eggs with chives and bacon and don’t blink because they’ll be gone as soon as you put them out!   

3 thoughts on “What the deviled? 

Leave a Reply

