not just a female rap group…

Last week I featured my teacup collection so this week I thought I’d share with you another collection, one of my most prized, my salt and pepper shakers.  When we first moved into our home, I started collecting them from thrift shops, yard sales, antique stores, anywhere I found that certain unique set that just jumped out at me. Then the neatest thing started happening, all of my loved ones started adding to my collection! Everybody loves getting a present but it means so much more to know that someone sees an item in their travels and has you on their mind enough to purchase it just for you. It’s gotten to the point now I’ve received so many shakers that I don’t even buy them for myself anymore! Each set that I receive I write the date and person they’re from on the bottom with a sharpie before proudly adding them to my collection. 

Even though it was difficult, I chose nine of my favorite sets to share with you and I thought I’d give a little backstory for each pair. 

 

Here they are…  These silver plated beauties from the 1950’s were from my husband’s maternal grandmother, Elvira. She and I both love vintage things and that woman can shop! She said she saw these and immediately thought of me. I like to put them out for very fancy dinners. 
  Can you believe this burger is actually salt and pepper shakers?! It comes apart between the tomato and the cheese. This set was from my sweet momma. She has bought me many many sets over the years but this is one of my favorites from her. I love using it for bbq’s.   Look at those faces! Their sad puppy eyes are just begging you to season your food. Lady and the Tramp is one of my favorite Disney movies and this set was given to me by one of my favorite people, my dad! He has really found me some unique sets, the most recent being a wooden set engraved with our hometown, Bristow, Oklahoma. But these are my favorite. If you’re reading this then hopefully it’s pretty obvious that I like to write. So when I saw these in an antique market (it was in Atlanta, Ga and seriously one of the coolest shops I’ve ever been in, I could’ve stayed there all day) I was immediately drawn to them. But they had so many things to look at and we were with friends so I got distracted and moved on, completely forgetting about them. Later that evening, the butcher presented me with a small brown paper package (it wasn’t tied up with string though unfortunately….anybody? Sound of Music?) and it was the pen and pencil! He had seen me eyeing them and went back and bought them for me. Isn’t he the sweetest?

 What’s better than a salt shaker with a picture of someone using a salt shaker? Even better if that someone is Mr. Mickey Mouse himself! This set is really special, it was given to me by my mother in law who shares my love of Disney. Not only that but she bought them 33 years ago on their honeymoon in Disney World, the same place we went for our honeymoon. Maybe I’ll give them to Mahal when she gets married.   This cheeky set cracks me up every time I look at it. I was given these by a friend whose ex-husband, whom she’s not very fond of, was a mailman. I guess she thus derived some pleasure in this poor guy getting bitten in the butt by a dog! It’s magnetic too, so he’s really got quite a grip on that thing!   These adorable little oranges I received from one of my dearest childhood friends, Stephanie. The little old lady that lives next door to her had a yard sale and since she has a friend all the way in Sunny Florida who collects salt and pepper shakers, she got them just for me! Their little expressions always bring a smile to my face and make me think of her. This set is prominently displayed in my kitchen.   Who doesn’t love an ice cold glass bottle of coke? These just have a little less sugar…in fact they have salt! Ha! My friend Patti, a fellow collector of vintage kitchenware with excellent taste, bought these for me. Isn’t it so nice when your friends just “get” you? And last but not least, this wonderfully weird pig. My friend/brother and new blog reader, Adrian, found this for me. For a man, he is extremely thoughtful. Maybe it’s because he has a sister and is close to his mom? He complements me when I look nice, protectively watches my back in a crowd of people, and never lets me win a board game, the perfect big brother. He even called me this weekend from Sur la Table or “your heaven” as he called it, to see if I wanted anything from that wondrous place. But enough about him, back to the pig. The shakers themselves are a simple ivory melamine but the pig, the pig is the real show stopper. It’s eyes are made of glass and I’m not sure what it’s body’s made of but it’s pretty stinkin’ heavy and covered in some sort of burlap like cloth with little metal studs. It’s pretty funky, which makes me feel like it had to be a product of the 70’s. I love it. 

And there you have it. The irony in all of this? I never put salt and pepper out on the table when I make a meal because I know how to season when I’m cooking and I feel it’s insulting to my food. A conundrum, I know.  

2 thoughts on “not just a female rap group…

  1. I’m glad you know how to collect manageable-sized objects. Were they clocks, or lamps, you would be crowded out of your house already (one of my problems). Cute collection!

Leave a Reply

