Blue Ribbon Chili

 Today our congregation had a chili cook off. My mom’s “Shocking Good” (a play on her last name, Schochler) hot & spicy turkey chili from the Schochler Pennsylvamia Kitchen was a big hit and there wasn’t a drop left in the crock pot! And no, in case you were wondering, I did not enter. I’m still relatively scarred from a family cheesecake competition…

I asked her if she could send me the recipe and she replied that she didn’t have one. 

“Mom, you gotta give me something. Just try” I guess I know where I get it from now, always struggling to give you people measurements and what not. 

This is what I got via text message…

“I just got in from taking your grandmother back to the nursing home. I can give you a list, but measurements differ depending on quantity you want.”

So my friends, here’s the list, but you’re on your own when it comes to quantity and measurements. Just wing it I guess…

  • Ground turkey or beef
  • 1 can tom paste
  • Lg can crushed tomatoes 
  • Lg can diced tomatoes 
  • Lg can chili beans or red kidney or assorted combo
  • Garlic
  • Onions
  • Half small can of adobo Chilis
  • Cumin
  • Chili powder 
  • S & P
  • Coriander 

“Thanks mom. But can you give me a little more, like the process you go through when making it?” Now I’m thinking maybe she just doesn’t want to give me her prize winning recipe…So she responds…

“Sauté onions and garlic first. Then add ground meat and cook with adobo chilis plus all dry spices. Add all cans with liquid. As you cook you may need to add little bit of water if tomato paste is too thick. Taste to adjust seasonings. Always better the 2nd day! How’s that?”

I sent her a thumbs up emoji (which probably just looked like an alien with a square around it since she most likely has not updated her iPhone software to include the emoji keyboard…4 parents and my husband is a lot of technology to manage, aye aye aye) and said, “Perfect mom, just perfect. And so was the chili!”

One thought on “Blue Ribbon Chili

  1. It was delicious and she told me she would get me recipe as well. Thanks to you both – can’t wait to try it.

Leave a Reply

