A loss with no name…

In October 1988, President Ronald Reagan Proclaimed October as National Pregnancy and Infant Loss Awareness Month and today, October 15th, as Pregnancy and Infant Loss Awareness Day. He said, “When a child loses his parent, they are called an orphan. When a spouse loses her or his partner, they are called a widow or widower. When parents lose their child, there isn’t a word to describe them.”

This month recognizes the loss so many parents experience across the United States and around the world. It is also meant to inform and provide resources for parents who have lost children due to miscarriage, ectopic pregnancy, molar pregnancy, stillbirths, birth defects, SIDS, and other causes.

I’m sure there’s all sorts of political mumbo jumbo associated with all of this that I don’t care to be involved in, but the bottom line is this, I like what he said and in a world that is full of so much badness, it’s nice that there is an informative resource for people who are hurting. 

A fellow blogger, Lexi Behrndt, who lost her infant son Charlie in 2014, wrote a beautiful letter to all grieving mothers, you can read it here.

It reminded me of a poem I wrote a few years ago about my miscarriages.   

 Thanks to time, the loving support of friends and family, and our wonderful hope for the future, we have made it through these difficult times. I hope that is the case for all of those parents out there hurting today, and every day. 

3 thoughts on “A loss with no name…

  1. My dearest sister –I now can look at you and feel your pain and truly thank you for grabbing onto Jehovah’s promise. You and Joe are wonderful parents and that I know as sure as I am alive.

    I pray each day for the comfort for parents who faced the death of their child or children. Both John and I have experienced this pain and really understand.

    All our love

Leave a comment